Welcome to the home page for the Johnson County Soil and Water Conservation District.  The district is a unit of Indiana’s state government responsible for soil and water conservation programs within Johnson County.  The mission of the district is to conserve and enhance our soil, water, and other natural resources by coordinating with local partners to provide technical, financial, and educational opportunities in Johnson County.


Plat Book


Plat books available: Cost $20. Proceeds benefit Johnson County Youth Conservation Board.

Landscape Fabric


$600/roll 15’x300′
$2.00/linear foot
$1.20/square yard

Rain Barrels


The barrels are recycled plastic and include a downspout diverter kit that works on 3″ or 4″ downspouts. Please click here for more information.

Helpful Information

Screen Shot 2012-12-13 at 10.38.39 AM
Indian & Stotts Creek Watershed Cost-Share Program

The Johnson & Morgan SWCDs have received a state grant to administer cost share projects for landowners located in the Indian Creek and/or Stotts Creek Watershed.

Are you confused when it comes to conservation programs?

We get a lot of questions regarding program administration. You should be able to find all your answers here

Web Soil Survey

NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future.


The Johnson County Soil and Water Conservation District was formed on August 15, 1940 to help heal the scars to the land from the turbulent 1930s.

Board of Supervisors Meeting

Next meeting:  August 18, 2016  8:30 am

Location: SWCD Office, 550 E. Jefferson St., Franklin, IN

Johnson County Fair July 17 – 23, 2016